112th Annual FOMA Convention Highlights


The 112th Annual FOMA Convention was held February 18-22, 2015 at the Bonaventure Resort and Spa in Weston, Florida. A crowd of more than 800 osteopathic physicians and guests from around the country as well as students from NSU-COM and LECOM-Bradenton attended the Convention! The Convention gave osteopathic physicians an opportunity to attend educational lectures, network with fellow colleagues and visit with over 45 exhibitors.

On behalf of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA), Robert S. Juhasz, DO, AOA president, welcomed the attendees and installed the new FOMA Officers during the Board of Trustees meeting. Adrienne White-Faines, executive director and CEO for the AOA, also addressed the Board of Trustees and welcomed them.

American Osteopathic Association (AOA) President Juhaz swearing in the new FOMA President

The new 2015-2016 FOMA Officers are: President – William Stager, DO, MPH from West Palm Beach, President-elect – Nicole Bixler, DO, MBA, from Spring Hill, First Vice-President – Joseph De Gaetano, DO, MPH from Ft. Lauderdale, Second Vice-President – Joshua Lenchus, DO, Rph, FACP, from Miami, and Directors at Large – Lee Ann Brown, DO from Clearwater, Eric Goldsmith, DO, FACOS from Fort Myers, Marc Kaprow, DO, FACOI from Davie, Brett Scotch, DO, FAOCO, from Wesley Chapel, and James Voirin, DO, from Oviedo, Florida.

The Convention was packed with many events and receptions this year. An alumni reception was held for NSU-COM. The Sth Annual Poster Competition was a huge success with 55 entries.

Robert S. Juhasz, DO, AOA president was the keynote speaker at the Past President’s luncheon and gave an update on the AOA. FOMA President Jorge Luna, DO, FACOFP thanked William Silverman, DO, FACOFP and Ronald Burns, DO, FACOFP for their time, hard work and dedication to FOMA CME Programs.

February 2015, Ft. Lauderdale, FL, inauguration picture, 2015-2016 President of the Florida Osteopathic Medical Association (FOMA)

The President-elect’ banquet in honor of William Stager, DO, MPH, was a night of special awards, celebrations and dancing the night away.

Dr. Jorge Luna presented FOMA Presidential Achievement Awards to Nicole Bixler, DO, MBA, FACOFP, Ronald Knaus, DO, Tamer Gozleveli, DO (posthumously) and Lynne Cawley for their dedication and loyalty to the osteopathic profession and the FOMA. The FOMA Distinguished Service Award was presented to Sharon Beckley, Dir. Of Medical Staff Services at Wellington Regional, the FOMA Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Paul Seltzer, DO, of W. Palm Beach, and the FOMA Physician of the Year Award was presented to Joshua Lenchus, DO, Rph, FACP, of Miami, Florida.

Dr. Robert S. Juhasz, AOA President installed William Stager, DO, MPH, as the 2015-2016 FOMA President.

Before the evening ended, Dr. Stager gave his inaugural address and accepted the FOMA ring and gavel as a symbol of his upcoming year as President of the FOMA.

The FOMA would like to thank those who attended the 112th Annual FOMA Convention. Mark your calendar to attend the 113th Annual FOMA Convention, February 17-21, 2016 at the Bonaventure Resort & Spa in Weston!

Scroll to Top